A Checklist To Ensure Meetings Are Compliant With The Right-to-Know Law During The State Of Emergency Coös Broadband Committee Meeting May 26, 2021

Prior to the start of the meeting, Michelle Moren-Grey read the following:

Due to the State of Emergency declared by the Governor as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic and in accordance with the Governor's Emergency Order #12 pursuant to Executive Order 2020-04, this public body is authorized to meet electronically.

Please note that there is no physical location to observe and listen to this meeting, which was authorized pursuant to the Governor's Emergency Order. However, in accordance with the Emergency Order, I am confirming that we are:

Utilizing Zoom for this electronic meeting and all members of the Committee have the ability to communicate during this meeting through this platform, and the public has access to listen and, if necessary, participate in this meeting through dialing the following phone # (929 436 2866) and Meeting ID: 874 2593 8489 and Pass Code: 287248, or by clicking on the Zoom Meeting link provided in the agenda.

We previously gave notice to the public of the necessary information for accessing the meeting, including how to access the meeting using Zoom or telephonically.

If anybody has a problem, please call (603) 444-6303 ext 2014 or email at mmoren@nccouncil.org.

In the event the public is unable to access the meeting, the meeting will be adjourned and rescheduled. Please note that all votes that are taken during this meeting shall be done by roll call vote.

We will start the meeting by taking a roll call attendance. Please state your full name, the entity being represented, and whether there is anyone in the room with you during this meeting, which is required under the Right-to Know law.

Pamela Laflamme	Berlin	Р	Kathleen Kelley	Randolph	Р
Sharon Geller	Carroll	Α	Clayton Macdonald	Stratford	Α
John White	Clarksville	Р	Peter Corey	Whitefield	Р
Sharon Penney	Colebrook	Р	Lori Langlois	NCES	Р
Norman Cloutier	Columbia	Α	Gregor Stocks	Technical Assistance	Р
Erik Johnson	Dalton	Α	Lise Howsen	CEDC	Р
Faith Kimball	Dummer	Α	Jennifer Fish	Coös County Administrator	Р
Wayne Moynihan	Dummer	Р	Michelle Moren-Grey	RPC/EDD	Р
Julia Gilmore	Jefferson	Р	Carol Miller	Technical Assistance	Р
Joe Marshall	Jefferson	Р	Rep. Dennis Thompson	Stewartstown	Α
Ben Gaetjens-Oleson	Lancaster	Р	Dan Keenan	Shelburne Tech Committee	Р
Lee Dube	Milan	Р	Michael Prange	Shelburne Tech Committee	Р

Broadband/05262021.docx 1

Lisa Gilmore Morris	Milan	Р	Don Dawson	Netafy	Р
Robin Irving	Northumberland	Р	Andrew Dawson	Netfay	Р

<u>Review and Approval of April 28, 2021 minutes</u>: Kathleen Kelley requested that the minutes include the municipalities that do not attend be added to the roll call. A motion was made by Kathleen Kelley, seconded by Carol Miller to approve the minutes with the proposed revisions. The motion was approved by roll call.

Pamela Laflamme	Berlin	Υ	Robin Irving	Northumberland	У
Sharon Geller	Carroll	Α	Kathleen Kelley	Randolph	Υ
John White	Clarksville	Υ	Clayton Macdonald	Stratford	Α
Sharon Penney	Colebrook	Υ	Peter Corey	Whitefield	Υ
Norman Cloutier	Columbia	Α	Lori Langlois	NCES	Υ
Erik Johnson	Dalton	Α	Gregor Stocks	Technical Assistance	Υ
Faith Kimball	Dummer	Α	Lise Howsen	CEDC	Υ
Wayne Moynihan	Dummer	Υ	Jennifer Fish	Coös County Administrator	Υ
Julia Gilmore	Jefferson	Υ	Michelle Moren-Grey	RPC/EDD	Υ
Joe Marshall	Jefferson	Υ	Carol Miller	Technical Assistance	Υ
Ben Gaetjens-Oleson	Lancaster	Υ	Rep. Dennis Thompson	Stewartstown	Α
Lee Dube	Milan	Α	Dan Keenan	Shelburne Tech Committee	Υ
Lisa Gilmore Morris	Milan	Υ	Michael Prange	Shelburne Tech Committee	Υ

<u>Presentation by Don and Andrew Dawson, Netafy</u>: Mr. Dawson reported that Netafy, formerly TCC Skywire, has been operating since 2005 in Coös County. Today they are delivering service from Bethlehem to the Canadian Border and to the edges of Vermont and Maine.

Mr. Dawson explained that Netafy brings service to towns and provides quality services. He hopes to continue to provide service even when fiber will be available. A map was provided for the members to view and Mr. Dawson explained coverage currently provided in the Coös County area as well as the areas that do not.

He urged the municipalities/towns that have connectivity issues to consider Netafy until fiber is available.

Mr. Dawson explained that Netafy uses a variety of point to point technology. Equipment is installed from the ground up with landowner permission. Mr. Dawson provided further information on service, availability of services, various technology and line of site equipment. He also noted that 10% of Netafy's customers are small businesses.

Mr. Keenan inquired about lack of access in the Randolph/Shelburne. Was it due to low interest or connectivity? Mr. Dawson stated he would be happy to meet with Mr. Keenan and assess the situation.

Robin Irving, Northumberland, stated that the Town has been a customer of Netafy since 2014. Initially there were a few hiccups but the town is very happy with the service.

Broadband/05262021.docx

Updates:

- <u>State LSR's and Federal Funding</u>: Carol Miller provided information on SB85 Broadband Bill no funding from the state. It passed the Senate and House with amendments. If the budget
 passes, will create a Department of Energy. If the budget fails, reverts back to the Office of
 Strategic Initiatives.
- NTIA: This program has \$288 million of funding. It is a competitive based program that is asking participants to work with the state plan. If towns want to do something, now is the time. The deadline is August 17. Michelle will keep the group updated.

Carol will contact Spectrum and Starlink for a future presentation to the group. She will also contact Fibercast as they cover the Colebrook/Stewartstown area.

- American Rescue Plan: Michelle reported that the guidance is out and municipalities should know what their allocations will be. She urged municipalities to not leave any money on the table.
- RFI's: Michelle has 10 communities that have provided information. She will reach out again to the communities that have not responded.

Kathleen Kelley inquired if anyone had volunteered for the creation of the RFP. Michelle replied no. Ms. Kelley volunteered to assist with the RFP.

A motion was made by Carol Miller, seconded by Lise Howson to adjourn at 10:19 a.m. The motion was approved by roll call.

Pamela Laflamme	Berlin	Υ	Robin Irving	Northumberland	У
Sharon Geller	Carroll	Α	Kathleen Kelley	Randolph	Υ
John White	Clarksville	Υ	Clayton Macdonald	Stratford	Α
Sharon Penney	Colebrook	Υ	Peter Corey	Whitefield	Υ
Norman Cloutier	Columbia	Α	Lori Langlois	NCES	Υ
Erik Johnson	Dalton	Α	Gregor Stocks	Technical Assistance	Υ
Faith Kimball	Dummer	Α	Lise Howsen	CEDC	Υ
Wayne Moynihan	Dummer	Υ	Jennifer Fish	Coös County Administrator	Υ
Julia Gilmore	Jefferson	Υ	Michelle Moren-Grey	RPC/EDD	Υ
Joe Marshall	Jefferson	Υ	Carol Miller	Technical Assistance	Υ
Ben Gaetjens-Oleson	Lancaster	Υ	Rep. Dennis Thompson	Stewartstown	Α
Lee Dube	Milan	Α	Dan Keenan	Shelburne Tech Committee	Υ
Lisa Gilmore Morris	Milan	Υ	Michael Prange	Shelburne Tech Committee	Υ

Respectfully submitted,

Linda Harris, Administrative Assistant